Awards and recognitions 


The Argyle Band program has a rich tradition of success both at the middle school and high school levels.

Music for all national Festival

The Music for All National Festival, presented by Yamaha, celebrates outstanding music-making by the nation’s finest high school and middle school scholastic ensembles, invited to perform in concert after a national, recorded audition. The Argyle Middle School Honor Winds were invited to perform at the 2019 National Festival in Indianapolis and performed the following six selections:


Eagles Awake - Richard Saucedo

Variations on Scarborough Fair - Calvin Custer

Simple Gifts - Frank Ticheli

King Cotton - John Philip Sousa

Night Fury - Carol Brittin Chambers

Stormbreak - Jim Casella

AtSSB Outstanding Performance Series

The Association of Texas Small School Bands (ATSSB) sponsors the Outstanding Performance Series, where every year recordings are submitted to a panel of judges from each region in Texas. Each band can submit two concert pieces and one march. The winners in each region advance to the area level and the winners at the area level advance to the state level, at which point the overall winners are selected and the top two in each category are published on a CD. Below are the years the Argyle Middle School Band has placed first or second and been published on the annual CD.

In 2021, the Argyle Middle School Symphonic Band was the first Non-Varsity band in the history of the OPS contest to have a recording published on the CD.

2021 - 2nd place Concert piece: Night Fury - (Symphonic Band) (Bojan Gutic, director)

2021 - 1st place March: The High School Cadets (Evan Fletcher, director)

2019 - 1st place Concert piece: Simple Gifts, all 4 movements (Evan Fletcher, director)

2018 - 1st place March: The Footlifter March (Evan Fletcher, director)

2018 - 1st place Concert Piece: Songs of Old Kentucky (Evan Fletcher, director)

2017 - 1st place March: El Arco de Los Cabos (Evan Fletcher, director)

2017 - 1st place Concert Piece: Summer Resounding (Evan Fletcher, director)

2015 - 1st place March: March of the Buccaneers (Evan Fletcher, director)

2015 - 1st place Concert Piece: Highland Celebration (Evan Fletcher, director)

2012 - 2nd place March: Prestissimo (Ray Hilley, director)

2011 - 2nd place March: Gallant Marines March (Ray Hilley, director)

2005 - 1st place March: The Tahoka Gallop (Chris Burk, director)

2005 - 1st place Concert Piece: Songs of the Whalemen (Chris Burk, director)

2005 - 2nd place Concert Piece: Latin Folk Song Trilogy (Chris Burk, director)

2004 - 1st place March: Newcastle March (Chris Burk, director)

2004 - 1st place Concert Band: Quintology (Chris Burk, director)

ATSSB Logo.png

Mark of Excellence, Citation oF Excellence

Hosted by the Foundation for Music Education, this competition is similar to the ATSSB OPS competition, but this one is conducted on a nationwide level. The top 25% are named National Winners and the next 25% are named Commended Winners with National Winners being published on an annual CD.

The Citation of Excellence is specific to Non-Varsity Bands (Our Symphonic Band) and follows the same parameters.

Mark of Excellence:

2021 - National Winner

2019 - Commended Winner

2018 - National Winner

2017 - Commended Winner

Citation of Excellence:

2021 - National Winner

Argyle High school band

We are a proud feeder of the Argyle High School Band.

The Argyle High School Band is the largest organization at Argyle High School and has a rich history of success in both the fall during marching season and the spring during concert season. Click here to read about some of their accomplishments.